Portobello Salad Caps

IMG_9331

I love stuffed portobellos – the options are endless. I adapted this recipe from something I read in Better Homes & Gardens while waiting for my car to get repaired 🙂 Vegans can substitute the cheese for a vegan “cheese” or skip it altogether. I used Neufchatel – I love this low fat version of cream cheese. You could use any cheese however.  I had them leftover for lunch and they were great the next day also. You can experiment with any vegetable you like. Also, I include jalapenos – this made it really spicy so omit if you prefer.

  • Sweet peppers
  • Zucchini
  • Jalapeno
  • Carrot
  • Tomato
  • Spinach
  • Scallions
  • Olive oil
  • Lemon juice
  • Panko Breadcrumbs
  • Portabello caps
  • Neufchatel Cheese

IMG_9322

Start by cleaning the veggies and cutting into bite size pieces (everything except spinach). I shredded the zucchini. Take Neufchatel cheese out to soften.

IMG_9327

Saute the veggies that need to be cooked the longest in olive oil. Reserve the spinach, scallions, and tomatos (any veggie that doesn’t need much cook time). Squeeze one half lemon into the veggies and season w/S & P.

IMG_9329

When the “tough” veggies are tender, place the “soft” veggies on top and cover pan. The steam will wilt the spinach. Once it’s soft, mix all veggies together, add about 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs and take off heat.

Arrange cleaned portobellos with stems & gills removed (use spoon) on foil-lined baking sheet, stem side up. Spread Neufchatel on mushrooms and scoop the veggie mix on top. Bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes. Serve hot.

Post-note: If you have leftover peppers & spinach, use the next night as a side. Saute with lemon juice, olive, garlic, and salt. Delicious.

