Classic Sweet Potato Casserole

IMG_9337

When it comes to the holidays, I let myself indulge at parties & family get-togethers and make up for it by running more and having light lunches! For Christmas I already know I’ll be in charge of sweet potato casserole so I wanted to work on finding the best recipe. I love the traditional version, sweet with lots of marshmallows! While I like nuts in non-sweet foods, like pasta or salad, I don’t ever put them in my sweets so I don’t have them here. I tried several different recipes to arrive at my favorite – a combination of several ideas. This version is the best of the best – a little tang with the orange zest,  the perfect amount of sweetness and a crispy golden marshmallow top! Yum.

  • 8 large sweet potatoes (about 4 lbs) well scrubbed
  • 1/3 cup half and half
  • 1 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1 orange, squeezed for fresh juice and zested
  • 2 tbsp. butter, softened
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. all-spice (or substitute 1 tsp. each cinnamon and nutmeg)
  • 1 bag mini marshmallows

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Scrub your potatoes cut off any bad spots. Pierce the potatoes several times with a good knife. Bake for an hour on a foil-lined baking sheet until a knife slides easily into the potato. Check occasionally to make sure they don’t overcook.

Set aside potatoes until cool and then skin and scoop out flesh. Mash in a large bowl until the desired consistency. Some like their potatoes super smooth and others like a little chunk!

Turn down oven to 350 degrees. Slice your orange in half, squeeze and collect juice and then lightly zest the entire orange with a fine grater. Collect in a bowl to add to potatoes.

In the large bowl with potatoes, add all other ingredients (with the exception of the marshmallows) and beat until mixed and smooth. Taste and add more sugar and spice if you like. This is a pretty low sugar recipe but remember the marshmallows add a lot of sweetness!

Spread in 13×9 greased baking pan and lightly sprinkle top with cinnamon. Top with remaining marshmallows and bake until golden brown, about 30 minutes.

Serves: 8-10

Recipe Source: Original

Time: ~2 hours total

