Poached fish with creamy cucumber salad

IMG_9455

After one particularly unhealthy week I decided to try the Southbeach diet. I thought I would suffer from the lack of bread and pasta but it was actually the lack of sugar that killed me. I just love something sweet after a meal and I can’t stand diet/sugar free foods. Thus, I lasted less than 3 days. BUT…I did like a lot of the recipes and still use them in my normal diet. This is a Phase 1 approved meal that I’ve adapted from the Taste of Summer Cookbook. I don’t usually poach fish but this was really an easy way to prepare fish that results in tender fish with a light lemon flavor. This is for 2 servings…double for a family of 4.

  • 1 lemon, thinly sliced
  • 1 small white onion, thinly sliced (or you can use shallots)
  • 2 pieces fish (I used Mahi Mahi – another firm whitefish would be fine like Halibut or Cod)
  • 1 cucumber, thinly sliced
  • Dill, finely chopped
  • 1 7oz. Fage greek yogurt container (no fat) or 1/4 cup low fat sour cream
  • Salt
  1. In medium saucepan, fill with enough water to cover fish. If you can’t do this, just flip the fish halfway through.
  2. Bring water, lemons, onions or shallots, and fish to a gentle simmer. Nestle lemons around fish. Continue to cook about 8 minutes until the fish is cooked through and opaque.
  3. While fish is cooking, mix sliced cucumbers, dill, yogurt, and a dash of salt in a bowl.
  4. When fish is done, transfer to plates with a slotted spoon. Place lemons and onions on top. Serve with the cucumber salad.
