Buffalo Chicken Dip

IMG_9516

This hot dip is really really good, always a crowd-pleaser. My husband LOVES it. There are several different versions of this recipe out there. In my humble opinion, this is the best. Why? First, I like it layered rather than all mixed up – it looks better and you get the distinct flavors. Second, I use real chicken breast chopped finely rather than canned chicken. Also, I only use bleu cheese dressing and I use Bolthouse farm’s yogurt dressing which I prefer to any other brand. Some recipes call for both bleu cheese and ranch, I think having just bleu is more authentic to true Buffalo Chicken. Lastly, I don’t add celery to the dip but serve it on the side. This recipe makes a 8×8 baking dish size serving.

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breast, poached, cooled, and chopped into fine bite-size pieces
  • 1 bottle Franks Buffalo Wings hot sauce
  • 2 pkgs. Neufchatel cheese
  • 1 bottle Bolthouse Farm’s Bleu Cheese Yogurt dressing
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, grated
  • Serve with Celery and Frito Scoops

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cook chicken. Let cheese soften and smooth both “bricks” onto the bottom of a 8×8 baking dish. Next, put a generous helping of the dressing on top of the cheese, I use close to the entire bottle. Mix the chicken, cheddar, and enough Franks to coat everything well in a large bowl. Add more or less Franks based on how hot you want it. Scoop the chicken mixture on top and bake for about 25 minutes until it begins to bubble at the edges and is heated through. Serve with celery, fritos, and any other cracker, or veggie you’d like. For tailgating, I’ve heard you can make in a foil container and heat on a grill but I’ve never tried that myself.

