Green Rice with Snow Peas

IMG_9527

This is another recipe I adapted from my Southbeach cookbook.  The recipe called for regular peas in addition but I left those out because my husband hates them. You could add those or any other variety of veggies. I served this as a side dish but you could add tofu or chicken for a full meal. I had this leftover for lunch with a veggie burger atop – delicious!

  • Brown rice – I made about 6 cups. You could make less and just half the dressing.
  • 2 cups snow peas
  • 1-2 tbsp. each of fresh herbs, chopped, any combination of basil, parsley, dill, tarragon
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • Olive oil
  • S/P
  1. Begin to cook rice. In a food processor, mix herbs, salt, and olive oil with one tbsp. water. I add olive oil as needed but don’t put more olive oil than herbs – you want a pesto-like consistency.  Set aside.
  2. In a large skillet, heat olive oil and cook snow peas and scallions until crisp-tender.
  3. Mix cooked rice, snow peas and scallions, and herb mixture in large bowl.
  4. Add salt & pepper if needed to taste. Serve warm.
