Open-faced Egg Salad Sandwiches

Occasionally I want something really simple and memory-inducing. Egg salad makes me think of my childhood for some reason, which is strange because I don’t recall eating much egg salad but nonetheless I associate it with past times. Egg salad has a bit of comfort food quality I suppose. Everyone tends to like their egg salad different – I like relish, celery, and sweet onion. Feel free to adjust to your liking. Serve atop hearty multi-grain bread and lettuce leaves. Served with a cup of hot soup, this is an easy weeknight winter meal.

  • 12 hard-cooked eggs, peeled & chopped
  • Mayonnaise (about 1/2 cup)
  • Dijon Mustard (about 2-3 tsp)
  • Relish (about 2-3 tsp)
  • Celery, minced (2 stalks)
  • 1/4 sweet yellow onion, minced
  • S/P to taste
  • Sliced bread
  • Lettuce
  1. Place 12 eggs in a large saucepan, cover with cold water by about an inch and bring to a rolling boil. Cover the pan and remove from heat. Let stand 12 minutes, drain and rinse under cold water. Peel under running water. (Have any tips for peeling eggs, I’d love to hear them! I have a horrible time peeling eggs.)
  2. For the egg salad, mix all ingredients. Disclaimer: I don’t measure these ingredients but I tried to give approximations. Taste often and use your eye to add the right amount for your taste!
  3. Place lettuce leaves over bread and scoop the egg salad on top.
  4. Serve with hot soup.

Serves: 4

Time: ~30 minutes total

Recipe source: Original

One thought on “Open-faced Egg Salad Sandwiches

Comments are closed.