Olive and Feta Tapenade

This is my take on the traditional olive tapenade – the recipe came about because I had an abundance of feta and olives in my fridge! I was really happy with the result, it pairs perfectly with wine (and vodka or gin!) so it is a great dip to bring to cocktail or dinner parties. This recipe makes about 4 cups prepared so adjust according to how much you need. You can also use any type of olive, I mixed my favorite green and black varieties.

  • 1/2 lb. green olives, whole and pitted
  • 1/2 lb. black olives, whole and pitted
  • 6 oz. feta crumbles
  • 1 lemon
  • Olive oil
  • Dried herb seasoning

In a food processor mix the olives and feta until minced – you can process until just crumbly like the picture above or continue to blend to make a smoother texture, like pate.  Place mixture in a large bowl and add the juice from your lemon, a dash or two of olive oil, and dried herb seasoning to taste.  Stir, taste, adjust if needed and voila – you’re done!

10 thoughts on “Olive and Feta Tapenade

  1. janelle March 10, 2010 / 3:37 AM

    fantastic! I can just taste the lemon in the tapenade! Do you think adding some lemon zest would hurt the texture?

    • thequickanddirtycook March 10, 2010 / 8:07 AM

      Oh, a smidgen of lemon zest could work, I don’t think it would really affect the texture if you use it sparingly. I also think you could play around with different herb seasonings. The olives and feta are so bold that it takes a lot to overwhelm their flavor, but I also like a simple approach so the taste buds aren’t all over the place. 😉

  2. Natalie (The Sweets Life) March 10, 2010 / 5:08 PM

    just found your blog and i intend to whip up some of this tolive and feta tapenade TONIGHT! so delish!

  3. TeenieCakes March 11, 2010 / 4:13 PM

    I absolutely love olives and feta…so this totally caught my eye! I look forward to giving it a try!

  4. canalcook February 16, 2011 / 10:04 AM

    Perfect, was looking around for olive and feta recipes as I also have too much of both (and not a lot else) in the fridge right now. I wasn’t sure if the two would just be too salty together, glad you got through the trial and error process fr me!

  5. Patricia August 10, 2011 / 4:53 PM

    What does pd mean in your recipe? Look at Olives…..it says pd!

    • thequickanddirtycook August 10, 2011 / 7:46 PM

      I’ve changed it to lb. (pound) – that’s an old habit of mine and no one has pointed it out until now! Thanks 🙂

  6. DonicaSchumacher December 25, 2011 / 12:58 PM

    I was looking for a recipe like this, I added a few sundried tomatoes, give it great color and very festive…

    • thequickanddirtycook December 25, 2011 / 5:09 PM

      Sun-dried tomatoes – great idea! I love this recipe and will try it soon with sun-dried tomatoes, thanks for the idea!

Comments are closed.