Tuna Elbow Salad

Do you have a relationship with certain dishes that goes something like this: oh, I haven’t had that in a while … oh, I just ate that straight for a week and never want to see it again … until a few months later when you then gorge yourself on it for a week once again? Well I do … and it would be far sexier if it were something like chocolate marble cheesecake but alas, I crave, gorge, disgust myself on this tuna elbow salad. I’ve been eating this since I was a kid, my mother made it growing up and I continue to love it (when I don’t hate it that is).

It’s a truly easy and satisfying lunch. I’ll usually make it on a Sunday and then eat for lunch during the week. It also makes a great picnic/side salad and with Spring sprung, what perfect timing!

  • 1 pkg. elbow macaroni
  • 1 pkg. frozen peas (I prefer the steam fresh packages)
  • ½ medium red onion
  • One 12 ounce can albacore tuna
  • 1 cup reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 4 tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • S/P

Simply cook your pasta and cook your peas (just to tender, not mushy) and cool.Then, in a large bowl combine the pasta, peas, onion, and tuna. Mix in the mayo and mustard and season to taste with S/P. You can adjust your seasoning and add different salt/pepper mixes if you like. If you want a kick, add some fresh horseradish.

Serves: ~8-12

Recipe Source: family

Time: ~20 minutes

