Scallops with Edamame and Pineapple

I’ve recently started to order all my seafood from Vital Choice because they are certified sustainable by the Marine Stewardship Council.  I’m a huge seafood lover but given the distressing current state of our seas I also want to make sure I’m making as little negative impact as possible. Vital choice is ranked high for environmental quality and I’ve read several articles about the nutritious aspects of their seafood (Dr. Andrew Weil is a big fan).

This recipe incorporates the wild Alaskan Weathervane Scallops I ordered. The scallops were large, had a great rich, slightly sea flavor and a nice firm texture. If you are accustomed to small, slightly sandy scallops from the East coast, these are a huge step up. The recipe incorporates a lot of great flavors and textures: crunchy edamame (if you don’t overcook!), tangy pineapple, and sweet tomatoes. It would be great as a summer beach recipe, served with margaritas or mojitos! Also, if you prefer low-carb, feel free to place on lettuce instead of rice.

[FYI: I have not been asked, nor have I received anything from Vital Choice for this review. I like to pass on any good information, products, etc. that I personally use, especially those that are of high environmental or nutritional value. If I receive a product specifically for review purposes I will always disclose that fact.]

  • Rice (any type will work, I prefer Basmati)
  • Scallops (I recommend about 6 large scallops per person)
  • 3 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 package fresh shelled edamame (you can usually find this near the cold tofu in produce – or you can use frozen edamame but defrost prior)
  • 2 cups fresh or canned pineapple (drained), sliced into bite size pieces
  • ½ red onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • Olive oil and S/P
  • Lemon/lime and cilantro to garnish
  1. If using frozen edamame, let it defrost at room temp for about 30 minutes.
  2. Start your rice. Heat a large pan to medium-high, add olive oil and garlic and sauté for about a minute. Add the edamame, pineapple, tomatoes, and onion. Stirring occasionally, sauté for about 15 minutes on medium until hot and the flavors have mixed. Add S/P to taste. Remove from heat, and using a slotted spoon, remove to a bowl – keep warm.
  3. Discard juices from pan and wipe clean. Add olive oil and return to medium heat. Make sure your oil is hot and coats the pan so your scallops don’t stick. Cook your scallops on medium, about 2-3 minutes per side until opaque throughout. Season with S/P as you cook.
  4. Plate your rice and scoop the edamame mix over the rice. Add the scallops on top and garnish with cilantro if desired.

Serves: 2-4

Recipe Source: Adapted from a South Beach recipe

Time: 35 minutes

3 thoughts on “Scallops with Edamame and Pineapple

  1. Natalie (The Sweets Life) April 15, 2010 / 11:49 AM

    mmm I love scallops and pineapple and edamame but never would’ve thought to combine. i’ll be trying this sometime!

  2. Lazaro April 15, 2010 / 5:06 PM

    Saw you on cook eat share. Glad I read your well-written and informative blog. Look forward to following you here. Cheers!

    • thequickanddirtycook April 15, 2010 / 6:29 PM

      Thank you Lazaro!

Comments are closed.