Round Zucchini and Asparagus Beans on the Grill

Summertime is perfect for exploring your local farmers’ market and picking up new vegetables for grilling! Check out Local Harvest if you need help finding one in your area. Here in Atlanta, I like the Peachtree Road Farmers Market.

I love to grill in the summer; I put just about anything on the grill. So, when I saw these gigantic asparagus beans at the market I was excited to try beans on the grill.  The round vegetable is a round zucchini which is a great summer vegetable that tastes great grilled. Simply slice the zucchini into 3/4 inch thick slices and place in a large bowl or dish. Wash and cut the ends of your beans and place in the dish along with the zucchini. Coat with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and dried herbs. Let marinate for about 10 minutes and grill until tender. You can use a grill basket for the beans or I simply lay them on the grill taking care not to let the ends fall through the grate.  The beans will get brown but they will taste delicious!

