Homemade Chocolate Chunk Brownies

I think brownies may be my favorite traditional dessert. They conjure up so many memories of cooking at home as a child (licking spoons!) and also seem to be a very “agreeable” dessert; I’m not sure I’ve met anyone who doesn’t like brownies. This recipe came about on accident. A few months ago, I came across a Cook’s Illustrated recipe that suggested using cake flour instead of all-purpose flour for brownies. I fumbled and bought bread flour. But, I still really wanted brownies so I just tried the ol’fashioned way & used the all-purpose flour I already had. I thought they were fabulous. So I stuck with the all-purpose and added chocolate chunks for more excitement. This is now my stand-by brownie recipe. Hope you enjoy them too!

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped (or in 1 oz. squares)
  • 12 tbsp. unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 and 1/4 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of your favorite chocolate chips or chunks
  1. Adjust oven rack to middle position. Heat oven to 325 degrees. Line a 9 x 13 glass baking dish with two layers of aluminum foil (length/width), so that the foil hangs over the edges of the pan. Spray foil with nonstick cooking spray (baking variety).
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk to combine flour, salt, and baking powder.
  3. Melt chocolate & butter in medium heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir and heat until smooth.
  4. Remove from heat and using a spatula place melted chocolate in a large mixing bowl. With a spoon or spatula, gradually mix in sugar.
  5. Using a wire whisk, or whisk Kitchen-aid attachment, add eggs one at a time, whisking after each addition until thoroughly combined. Whisk in vanilla.
  6. Add flour mixture in three additions, folding with your spatula until batter is completely combined and smooth. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  7. Transfer batter to prepared pan & using spatula, spread batter into the corners of pan and smooth surface.
  8. Cook about 35-40 minutes (do NOT overcook) until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the pan comes out with a few crumbs attached.
  9. Cool on a wire rack and then remove the brownies from the pan by pulling the foil overhang out of the pan. Cut brownies in squares and store in airtight container at room temp up to 3 days.

Serves: 2 dozen 2-inch square brownies

Recipe source: Inspired by a Cook’s Illustrated recipe.

Time: ~ One hour 10 minutes

4 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Chunk Brownies

  1. Tanner Selinger October 13, 2012 / 3:30 PM

    Some of the most awesome brownies I’ve ever made. They were devoured by the family. Thanks for sharing.

    • thequickanddirtycook October 14, 2012 / 12:00 PM

      Yay! I’m glad you liked them … they are my absolute favorite dessert and oh so good hot out of the oven!

Comments are closed.