Pancetta and Sage wrapped Pork Loin

Hi blog world! I have been MIA for quite some time now and even let my one year birthday on the blogosphere go unnoticed. 😦 Over a year ago I started this little blog on a whim and now I couldn’t imagine not having this as my cooking journal and serious motivator. I wish I could say I feel like I’ve progressed a ton since I’ve started but nonetheless I definitely feel like it has pushed me to try new recipes and to work on my photography. This has possibly been the busiest year of my life so I look forward to (fingers crossed) things slowing down so I can again focus more on this blog. Please keep reading and following along, I promise to get in the kitchen more! I love reading your comments and learning from all the other food lovers out there.

True to my style, this is an elegant dinner that can be cooked up quickly for a nice weeknight dinner.  If you haven’t tried pancetta, it’s a lot like bacon when cooked and what could possibly go wrong with bacon? Nothing. The herbal taste of sage mixed with the rich bacon flavor is perfect over a moist roast pork loin. And have I mentioned it’s easy and quick? And only a few ingredients!! Love it.

  • ~ 8 fresh sage leaves
  • 1 boneless pork loin roast (about 2 pounds)
  • 8 thin slices pancetta
  • S/P
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees, with rack in the middle. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil, spray with cooking spray, and set aside.
  2. Grind salt and pepper over the pork loin. Arrange sage on top of pork loin. Lay pancetta over sage, overlapping as needed.

  1. Spacing evenly, secure pancetta with three 10-inch lengths of kitchen twine.
  2. Place pork on prepared sheet, and roast until pancetta is browned and crisp and an instant-read thermometer inserted in thickest part of pork reads 145 degrees, 35 to 40 minutes. Tent roast loosely with foil; let rest 5 minutes. Snip twine with scissors and remove; thinly slice roast before serving.

Serves: 4-6

Recipe sources: Martha Stewart

Time: One hour

3 thoughts on “Pancetta and Sage wrapped Pork Loin

  1. Jane @ Sweet Basil Kitchen September 10, 2010 / 7:48 PM

    I have never worked with pancetta, but this recipe looks fantastic. I agree with you about blogging motivating you to try new recipes and improve on your photography. I have a long ways to go, but I learn so much from visiting other blogs. Thanks for your recipe.

  2. carbonara September 20, 2010 / 6:06 PM

    Love it, it’s very similar to something my mother in law makes over here.

Comments are closed.