Hearty Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

I often think the B in breakfast stands for boring. Of course we all love delicious pancakes, eggs benedict, and other lovely brunch foods … but on the weekdays most of us are lucky enough to just grab a banana. I am always on the search for new quick weekday breakfast foods.  Because I had an abundance of apples I decided to try and make my own cinnamon apple oatmeal (which is always my favorite instant flavor).

Although cooking steel cut oatmeal can take some time I like this recipe because you can make it in the evening or on the weekend and it stays good in the fridge for several days. Or, it’s a nice reprieve from eggs on those weekend breakfasts. Plus, now that Fall is officially here you can get the best apples! I used honeycrisp and gala, but I’m sure any variety would work fine. Depending on your brand oatmeal, cooking times can vary. Follow instructions located on your oatmeal container and add the apples & seasoning in the last 10 minutes. Otherwise, just use the instructions below and cook longer if needed.

  • 1 cup steel cut oatmeal
  • 4 cups skim or reduced fat milk
  • 3 apples, cored, peeled and cut into small chunks
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  1. Bring 4 cups milk to a boil (use care not to let the milk burn) and stir in the oatmeal.
  2. Reduce heat to low and simmer uncovered over low heat for about 10 minutes.
  3. Stir in apples, cinnamon, and sugar.
  4. Stir occasionally until oats are desired texture, another 10 to 15 minutes.

Serves: 4

Recipe source: Original

Time: 40 minutes

