Tonnato Sauce

When I was in college I studied in London and had my first taste of taramosalata, a Greek caviar spread. I was instantly hooked to the creamy, salty delight and spread it on fresh bread way too often! This Italian dip reminds me of taramosalata – it is a creamy tuna dip that is served with raw vegetables. I ate an entire bowl with steamed green beans and loved every bite.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 small cans/jars tuna packed in olive oil
  • 3 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 4 anchovies
  • 2 tbsp. capers, rinsed
  • 1/4 cup mayonaise
  • Vegetables for dipping: steamed green beans, carrots, radish, cucumber, grape tomatoes, etc.

Instructions

Combine all ingredients (minus the vegetables) in a food processor. Process until smooth and creamy. Scrape the dip into a serving bowl and refrigerate. Serve chilled with fresh vegetables.

Serves: 6

Recipe Source: Food & Wine

Time: 15 minutes

 

