Grilled Scallops with Mango Avocada Salsa

If you follow my recipes you probably know I love coordinating dishes with the seasons – not just eating in season, which I try to do as much as possible, but eliciting the feeling of the season through food. I have Atlanta to blame for this. Those of you from up North probably think this is ridiculous but keep in mind I’m from Florida! That being said, Atlanta is the first place I’ve lived with FOUR seasons. Yes, our winters tend to be mild but we actually have a fall, winter, spring and summer! And I love it. This dish just screams summer; yes, I’m a little ahead of myself but now that I teach I have summer on the brain.

The key is finding plump, fresh scallops; for the grill you really need the large scallops. Plus, small scallops will cook quickly in the marinade. Also, look for ripe avocados and mangoes for the salsa. My mango was a little disappointing, rather stringy, but it did the trick. Serve with a side salad and grilled bread with olive oil. Yum!

Note: for most of my grill recipes, you can use a grill pan if you don’t have access to a grill, instructions are the same or I will give variations.

Ingredients

  • ~1 pd. large wild sea scallops
  • 1 ripe mango, diced
  • 1 ripe avocado, diced
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • fresh cilantro
  • 2 limes, halved
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • Red pepper flakes
  • S/P
  • Grill skewers

Instructions

  1. Rinse the scallops in cool water and pat dry with paper towels. Prepare the marinade 30 minutes before cooking.
  2. Combine the olive oil and garlic cloves in a bowl. Squeeze one & a half limes into the bowl. Add a good amount of red pepper flakes and season with S/P. Pour marinade into a large ziplock bag and add the scallops. Marinate refrigerated for 30 minutes – not much longer because the lime cooks the scallops.
  3. Meanwhile prepare your salsa – combine the mango, tomato and red onion. Squeeze the remaining half lime onto the salsa and season with fresh chopped cilantro and S/P. Immediately before serving the scallops, dice the avocado and add to the salsa. Stir and serve with the scallops.
  4. Heat your grill (or grill pan) and coat with non-stick spray. Skewer the scallops through the widest portion of the scallop, about 4 per skewer. Grill until cooked through, turning once, about 3 minutes per side. A fully cooked scallop with be opaque and white but not too firm. Try not to overcook scallops – they cook quickly.

Serves: 4

Recipe Source: Original

Time: 45 minutes

One thought on “Grilled Scallops with Mango Avocada Salsa

  1. natalie (the sweets life) April 19, 2011 / 12:51 PM

    yum! mango avocado salsa is one of my favorites but I’ve never paired it with seafood!

Comments are closed.