Strawberry, Banana and Nutella Panini

I’m a huge nutella fan – creamy, dreamy, hazelnut chocolate – yum! So when I ran across this recipe on Panini Happy I had to try it. If you have a panini maker that tends to spend its life in the kitchen cabinet, try browsing the blog Panini Happy – it is filled with hundreds of panini ideas!

As for the actual recipe, so easy! Simply spread nutella on both sides of the bread (I used a 5 grain wheat) and lay sliced strawberries and bananas on either side of the bread and close sandwich. Heat your panini maker. Before pressing, I like to either spray the panini maker with olive oil spray or rub butter on the grill. I used butter with this recipe. Place the sandwich in the maker and press for about 2 minutes.

So what do you do if you have a bunch of strawberries and bananas leftover? Fruit fondue plate of course! I served the panini as dessert one night and the next created a fruit plate. I whipped up some fresh whipped cream and served the cream with nutella and sliced fruit. Hubby and I sat on the couch and stuffed our faces 🙂

If you’re a whipped cream can or cool-whip kinda gal or guy, please do yourself a favor and whip your own cream. Nothing beats the fresh flavor and cloud-wisp (I think I just made that word up, something I’m told I love to do) texture. If you have an electric hand-mixer it is so simple, but any electric mixer will do. I have whipped by hand before – it takes a long time!

To make the cream, pour one cup of fresh whipping cream into a large bowl. (This will make a lot of whipped cream, but it is difficult to whip a small amount of cream. Store extra in an airtight container for several days in the fridge. Simply re-whip a minute or two before serving.) Add a dash of vanilla and a tsp. or two of sugar. I don’t like mine too sweet so adjust the sugar according to your preference. Whip the cream for several minutes until peaks form and you have your desired consistency. Serve with nutella and fresh fruit for dipping!

One thought on “Strawberry, Banana and Nutella Panini

  1. Claire @ Claire K Creations May 13, 2011 / 2:38 AM

    Chocolate and strawberries with bread… I love it! What a wonderful way to eat your fruit.

Comments are closed.