Simple Side: Herbed Flat Bread

Once you learn this ridiculously easy trick for making really good “flat bread,” you’re going to start making it like crazy in all kinds of varieties. I bet’cha. Or maybe that’s just me. Credit for this recipe goes to my mom – she told me about this not too long ago and now I make it every time I cook pasta or anything else that needs some good sopping material!

So, ready for the really complicated instructions? Go to your local market, buy fresh whole wheat or regular pizza dough, bring it home and roll it out on a piece of parchment paper. Preheat oven to 350. Brush or drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle your favorite dried herbs on top. You can also add cheese if you’re so inclinded! If you have those dried herb mixes that are used for dipping oil, those work great. I’ve also added thinly sliced tomatoes to mine … yum. Keeping on the parchment paper, place on a pizza stone, baking sheet, or directly on the oven rack. Bake for about 10 minutes until the dough is lightly browned and cooked through. Slice and serve immediately.

I told you it was easy!

