Review: Godiva Coffee (& some cool coffee recipes for the summer heat)

As part of Foodbuzz’s Tastemaker program I received a beautiful package from Godiva containing both their new Chocolate Truffle and French Vanilla coffees. How lucky am I? Thank you Godiva and Foodbuzz! I’m an avid coffee drinker; not just for the caffeine jolt, which really makes me feel more focused in the morning, but also because I love the flavor of good coffee. And what’s better than receiving Godiva coffee in the mail? Receiving it in the summer when I am addicted to iced coffee drinks! In the morning, in the afternoon, or for an after-dinner refreshment I love iced coffee in the summer! My husband and I tested out these recipes while we sat on the back porch listening to the morning birds … lovely!

I created a recipe for both types of coffee and was impressed by both flavors. I’m usually fairly weary about flavored coffees because oftentimes the flavor will overwhelm the coffee bean flavors or taste unnatural. Godiva did a good job of keeping the flavors bold while allowing the natural coffee beans to shine as well. The aroma is fabulous – don’t you love opening a fresh bag of coffee and taking a big ol’ sniff? I do and this coffee smells oh so divine. Coffee and chocolate combined? What more could you ask for? When brewed the flavor is indulgent yet natural and paired beautifully in the following recipes:

For all iced coffee or blended coffee drinks, brew your coffee strong and let cool completely before mixing. You can mix your sweetener in with the hot coffee or when you make the drink but you will need to stir/shake it more to get it blended when it’s cooled.

The Bee’s Knees Iced Coffee Drink

Combine 8 ounces Godiva’s French Vanilla coffee (brewed & cooled) with 1 tbsp. half and half, 1 tbsp. honey, and 1 tsp. cinnamon. Stir or shake well and pour over ice. Serve immediately. Sit back and relax.

Dark Chocolate Blended Coffee Drink

In a blender, combine 8 ounces Godiva’s Chocolate Truffle coffee (brewed & cooled) with 2 1/2 cups ice, 2 tbsp. dark chocolate flavored creamer, and 1 tbsp. sugar. Blend until completely smooth. If you can’t find the dark chocolate creamer, mix 2 tbsp. half and half  with dark chocolate syrup to create your own. Top with whipped cream and/or chocolate syrup for an extra treat.

