Neapolitan Ice Cream Pops and Homemade Fudgesicles

I really try not to buy a lot of cooking magazines because I have so many already and every time my frequent flier miles expire I use the points for more! But, sometimes the glossy pages and beautiful pictures just can’t be resisted. This was the case when I saw this recipe in a magazine I was browsing in the grocery line. These pops are rich, creamy, colorful, and oh so flavorful! Totally worth the magazine splurge 🙂

For making popsicles you can either buy molds or use paper cups and sticks. I use molds that I bought for less than $3 bucks and they work perfectly. Next time I make these though, I think I’m going to use small paper cups with sticks because they are so rich and I’d like smaller servings. The instructions are for the Neapolitan pops but you can use the basic recipe to create other pops. I loved the chocolate flavor and used the chocolate to make fudgesicles that are divinely decadent. I also used strawberry and vanilla to make pops with sliced bananas inside! Have fun!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup low-fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup strawberries, hulled and sliced

Instructions

1. In a large bowl, whisk together yogurt, cream, sugar, and vanilla until sugar dissolves, about 2 minutes. (Vanilla mixture)

2. In a small bowl, whisk together 1 cup of vanilla mixture and cocoa powder until smooth; transfer to a quart-size ziplock bag. (Chocolate mixture)

3. In a food processor combine 1/2 cup vanilla mixture and strawberries. Puree until smooth, 1 to 2 minutes; transfer to a liquid measuring cup. (Strawberry mixture)

4. Transfer remaining vanilla mixture into another quart-size ziplock bag.

5. With scissors, snip a small hole in one corner of bag with cocoa mixture and pipe into each mold, dividing evenly. Gently tap molds on work surface to smooth. The mixture will be thick so it takes a bit of finesse but if you get chocolate mixture on the sides of the molds simply wipe clean with a paper towel so you have nice distinctive lines.

6. With scissors, snip a small hole in one corner of bag with vanilla mixture and pipe into each mold, dividing evenly. Gently tap molds on work surface to smooth and wipe sides with paper towels if needed. Top with the strawberry mixtures and insert popsicle sticks.

Freeze until solid about 6 hours. If you need help releasing the pops, run the mold under warm water.

Makes about 6-8 popsicles

Recipe source: Special Issue Food Everyday Summer 2011

Time: 20 minutes plus freeze time

