Slow-Cooker Brownies

I love my slow-cooker so I was really intrigued by the idea of using it for sweets. I can’t say I’m sold on the idea, however, mainly because I can’t figure out how to prevent the sides from getting more well done than the interior. With savory dishes, you simply stir occasionally and everything cooks evenly, sweets are not the same and as a result the brownies had a crispy edge. I even reduced the recommended cooking time.

I’m posting the recipe, though, because (minus the crisp edge) the brownies are rich, sweet, and gooey. If you have a solution to the burnt edge problem I’d love to know! I cut a ring around the brownies and trashed the extremely crisp edge and the interior brownies were delicious. Overall, if you need the ability to stir and step away for some time, try the slow-cooker (or if you’re just curious like I was). If you have the time to bake and wait for the oven, try these.

Ingredients

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (6 ounces)
  • 1 cup walnut halves, coarsely chopped (optional)
Instructions
  1. Lightly coat a 5-quart slow-cooker insert with cooking spray. Line bottom with parchment paper and lightly coat with spray. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.
  2. Place butter and chocolate in a medium microwave-safe bowl and microwave in 30-second increments, stirring after each, until chocolate is melted. Add sugar; stir to combine. Stir in eggs. Add flour mixture and chocolate chips (and walnuts if you choose) and stir just until moistened (do not overmix). Transfer to slow cooker and smooth top.
  3. Cover and cook on low, 3 hours. Uncover and cook 15 minutes. Cooking times can vary so use a toothpick to check the center; the interior will be more moist than the edge but will continue cooking a bit while they cool.  Use your best judgment.
  4. Remove insert from slow cooker and run a knife around edge to loosen brownies. Let cool completely in insert on a wire rack, about 2 hours. Turn out onto a work surface and cut into 14 brownies.
Serves: about 12 brownies
Recipe source: Adapted from a Martha Stewart Food Everyday
Time: 20 minutes plus cook time
2 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Brownies

  1. Savory Simple September 19, 2011 / 9:51 PM

    Even if you weren’t 100% satisfied, I’m glad you shared your results. I’m so intrigued by making sweet dishes in the slow cooker, I just never get around to trying it.

  2. frugalfeeding September 20, 2011 / 7:02 AM

    I’ve seen this being done before and I have to say the brownies always seem to turn out amazing – these clearly have.

Comments are closed.