Cilantro and Olive Ravioli Salad

This is a great summer salad; it has a phenomenal bright green color and is bursting with the bright flavors of olives and cilantro. I apologize for the seriously over-exposed picture; I’ll try to make it again soon and get a new picture. Although I think I’ve definitely improved with my photography since starting this blog, I am not at the level I expect of myself and have been tossing a lot of recipes (for the time being) simply because I don’t have a photo I find acceptable.  Summer, the blessed time of year for all teachers, is finally here and I hope to have a bit more time to work on my photography skills and refreshing the blog.  Now if I could only talk my husband in to letting me purchase the camera I’ve been drooling over! Keep reading … I promise a lot of improvement here in the next few months with the same simple recipes to keep you cooking quickly and in good health 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 cup lightly packed fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 ounce (1/3 cup) grated Parmesan
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 4 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • S/P
  • 1 pound fresh or frozen cheese ravioli
  • 1/2 cup pitted and chopped Kalamata olives

Instructions

Cook the ravioli per package instructions. As the ravioli is cooking, combine the cilantro, Parmesan, garlic, lemon juice, and all but 1 tbsp. of the pine nuts, and a splash of olive oil in a food processor. Blend until smooth. With machine running, slowly add the olive oil until pesto comes together in a brilliant green sauce. Taste and adjust as needed (you may need to add more cilantro) to get the consistency you want. Season with S/P.

Once ravioli is cooked, drain and transfer to a large bowl. Immediately toss with the pesto and olives.  Serve with the remaining pine nuts and cilantro leaves sprinkled atop.

Serves: 4-6

Recipe source: Adapted from Super Natural Every Day by Heidi Swanson

Time: 20 minutes

