Pineapple with Herb Sugar

During the summer I am always looking for ways to use up herbs that grow like crazy, especially mints and basil. I would never have thought of mixing herbs with sugar in this manner, but I found this recipe in the latest Food Everyday and was instantly curious. You can use any herb variety you like; I used sweet basil, peppermint, and lemon balm because I had an abundance of those and I figured they would mix well together. My husband and I sprinkled the sugar on pineapple wedges for dessert and it was fabulous – sweet, juicy pineapple with a refreshing herbal sidekick. Other ideas for using the herb sugar:  rim cocktail glasses, stir into tea or lemonade, sprinkle on lemon sorbet, and mix in a variety of fruit salads. I also tried it on cantaloupe and it was delicious 🙂

To make, simply process 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup fresh tender herbs until a well-mixed, crumbled mixture develops. This will produce about 1 cup of herb sugar.

