Smoked Salmon Paté (we went to Alaska, and came home with fish!)

This summer we were lucky enough to take a beautiful cruise to Alaska with my sister and her husband, and my mother and step-father. We surprised our parents this past Christmas with the trip as a gift from the four of us, and we spent 7 months in anticipation! It truly met all of our expectations. Everywhere you look, there is natural beauty. Bold, engulfing, wide-open beauty.

the ladies
the gents

The boys went on a fishing trip, braving the cold and wind, and caught beautiful King Salmon which was shipped home for our pleasure. This summer I’ve made several salmon dishes with the catch and will post them shortly with pictures from our trip. Salmon is not only delicious, but extremely nutritious. Please buy wild-caught; if that is difficult to find you can always mail-order from my favorite Marine Stewardship Council certified provider, Vital Choice. (I love my seafood and I want to make sure future generations can also enjoy clean and healthy oceans and seafood.) 🙂

This is a great appetizer for parties; goes well with any sort of cracker, pita chip, or bread. Enjoy!

Recipe notes:

*I often substitute neufchatel cheese for cream cheese in recipes because of the lower fat content. Both cream cheese and neufchatel cheese work well in this recipe. I don’t ever recommend low-fat varieties of cream cheese, because I think the taste and texture is unappetizing. Make sure you combine all ingredients really well before rolling into a ball – I had a few spots that were mainly cheese! oops!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups crumbled smoked salmon
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp. chopped onion
  • 1 (8-ounce) package of neufchatel (or cream) cheese, softened
  • 4 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tbsp. horseradish
  • Finely chopped walnuts
  • Crackers or bread

Instructions

In a medium bowl, sprinkle the crumbled salmon with lemon juice. Add onion and softened cheese. Mix together with a fork and combine with the mayonnaise and horseradish. Form to make a round ball or log. Roll in finely chopped walnuts. Serve with crackers or toasted bread.

Serves: 10-12

Recipe source: Adapted from Best of the Best from Alaska Cookbook

Time: 30 minutes or less

Before you go

I recently set up a facebook page for Q&DK and would love to grow my LIKES! I promise to only serve up delish recipes via your feed!

3 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon Paté (we went to Alaska, and came home with fish!)

  1. Molly September 2, 2012 / 1:01 PM

    Aww, so good to see you and your family’s beautiful smiles. I’m glad you all had such a wonderful time; what a great gift you gave them!! This recipe sounds so delish; any ideas for how to make it cheeseless?

  2. thequickanddirtycook September 2, 2012 / 1:09 PM

    It is delish 🙂 I can’t attest to taste, because I’ve never used it, but I’ve seen a variety of vegan cream cheese varieties in Wholefoods. As long as the texture is similar (so it will hold up as a spread) it should work. I also found this recipe if you want to attempt your own vegan cream cheese: http://hellogiggles.com/vegan-cream-cheese.
    Let me know if you try a cheese substitute!

Comments are closed.