Dear fall, I love you. And apple fritters.

Dear fall,

I am eagerly anticipating your arrival this year. After all, it seems I possess rather favorable blood in the mosquito world and this has made my love of the outdoors a bit  unpleasant as of late.  But with your arrival I can expect cooler temperatures, fewer biting insects, and beautiful fall foliage. What a pity my lovely, grand-daddy of an oak tree litters covers my deck with that foliage every single day. Good thing I have a thing for sweeping. I digress. Let me get back to singing your praises fall, wonderful fall. How I love pumpkin patches, apple orchards, and Halloween! Morning runs in the cool, crisp air. Weekend drives to fun, fall fests.  Your gentle ways assure me winter will come, but always go, so don’t fret too long about the cold. And of course, your arrival always reminds me that holiday time spent with family, good food and conversation, is just around the corner. You are so kind.

Love, me

Ready for fall? Almost here. Welcome the season with fresh apple fritters!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 4 tsp. vegetable oil, plus 2 cups for frying
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 2 cups all purpose flour (spooned/leveled)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. fine salt
  • 4 medium apples, cored, peeled, and cut into 1/2 inch thick rings
  • 1/2 cup cinnamon and sugar (mixed to your desired ratio) for dusting

Instructions

In a medium bowl, whisk the buttermilk, 4 tsp. oil, and eggs. Stir in the sugar, flour, baking powder, and salt.

In a large, heavy-sided skillet, heat 2 cups of oil until it registers 375 degrees on a candy thermometer (oil should bubble rapidly when a drop of batter is added). In batches, coat the apple slices with batter and fry until golden brown, about 4 minutes per batch, flipping halfway through. Transfer to a paper-towel lined baking sheet, or platter, to drain. Dust the fritters with the cinnamon and sugar and serve immediately.

Makes about 20 fritters

Time: ~1 hour

Recipe source: Adapted from a Martha Stewart recipe

