Spicy Braised Eggs (aka Recovery Breakfast)

So, this past weekend we celebrated Halloween with friends. Such a great holiday. I was really nervous about my costume because it required a great deal of face painting. First, I have no experience face painting and try to keep my normal makeup routine as simple as possible. Second, I’m not exactly “arts & crafty” so I thought I could really screw it up. To make the whole process seem enjoyable, I put on music and cracked open a bottle of wine. It worked. The face painting was surprisingly successful and enjoyable. (What do you think?)

The drinking, however, probably should have commenced at a later hour because it continued into the wee hours of the night. Oh boy. I felt it Sunday morning.

Over the years I’ve learned how to prevent a hangover and it involves eating large amounts of food and drinking large amounts of water before heading to bed. Alas, I didn’t follow my own prescription and woke up with a raging headache. I’m not a lush. I promise. But occasionally, it happens.

And that, my friend, is where spicy braised eggs come in … these are the perfect hangover food. Try them with bread for sopping up runny yolk and settling the stomach.

No hangover necessary, these are great any morning. 🙂

Recipe notes: I used prosciutto, but any type of ham or bacon would work. Just cook it before hand and then crumble on top. Same with the cheese – I could eat spoonfuls of goat cheese everyday but I know some people that absolutely hate it. Use whatever you prefer. Lastly, if you haven’t tried Sriracha, get some stat. It is hot, sweet, and full of chile flavor love. Use a saute pan that you can cover. Braising is a combination of wet/dry heat and you will create steam with a covered pan that will cook the egg whites without flipping.

Ingredients

  • Splash olive oil
  • 2 slices prosciutto
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp. water
  • S/P
  • To top: cheese, chives, Sriracha hot sauce

Instructions

Heat a splash of olive oil in a saute pan on medium heat and cook the prosciutto just enough to warm and crisp. Remove from the pan, set aside, and chop.

Using the same pan, add your eggs. Cook over medium-low heat for about 1 minute. Add the water, splashing on the side and top of the eggs. Cover the eggs and cook another few minutes. Remove the cover and continue to cook until the egg whites are completely cooked. Your yolk should still be bright yellow and runny, but your whites will be perfectly cooked. Lovely.

Top with the chopped prosciutto, cheese, chives, and a drizzle of Sriracha.

Serves: 2

Recipe source: Original

Time: 15 minutes

