How to: Frozen Herb Patties for dressings, sauces, and cooking

frozen herb patties

I picked this idea up from my mom who has a freezer full of various herb concoctions. (She’s gifted with a green thumb, with herb plants the size of small trees).

Although I don’t have quite as many beautiful herb plants, I do love to cook with fresh herbs and I hate when I have to toss them because I can’t get to them before they wilt.

Toss no more.

Whenever you have herbs that need to be used, use this quick technique to create frozen herb patties that will stay good for months in the freezer. I recently made a batch with my remaining basil plants. All you need is a selection of fresh herbs, olive oil, and any seasoning you would like to use.

Take your clean, fresh herbs (one bunch will produce about 4-6 small patties, so the more the better) and place them in a food processor or blender.

Add a splash of olive oil. For flavor I like to add fresh cracked S/P and lemon juice and zest. You can really use just about anything to add flavor, or just keep it simple with herbs and olive oil.

Pulse to blend. Add more olive oil as needed to create a pesto-like consistency. Place spoonfuls of the mixture on a parchment lined pan to form patties. Place in the freezer. Freeze a few hours until solid and remove from the parchment. Store in an airtight container or bag in the freezer.

So, what do you do with these frozen green things, you say? When added to your recipes, the patties act just like fresh herbs – the same vibrant flavor you expect.

*For a quick meal, place in a pan and saute with meat and/or vegetables.

*Add to pasta or pasta sauce.

*Place in a container with your favorite oil/vinegar, shake, and voilà! you have a quick, fresh herb vinaigrette.

*Place atop your favorite burger – I love them on veggie burgers.

The options are endless. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “How to: Frozen Herb Patties for dressings, sauces, and cooking

Comments are closed.