The Runner’s Tonic

Blog_August 25, 2012

While I love cooking, running was certainly my first passion. I remember the feeling of excitement when the P.E. instructor announced we were running laps; the other students cringed and I  looked forward to the adrenalin and sense of freedom. I’ve been running ever since, and although I’ve never quite been as “fast” as I’d like, running has served me well  through all the different phases of life – the good and the bad.  And, now that I’ve found a place in the kitchen as well, I can eat guilt free because I know the miles will work their magic.

If you also share a love of running, try this simple post-run tonic. I’ve never been a fan of brightly colored sports drinks and always stuck to ice water after runs. After reading so many articles about the benefits of cherry and coconut juice for runners, and athletes in general, I decided to put together my own tonic by combining the two. Cherry juice has anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties. Coconut water is loaded with potassium and natural electrolytes. I’m prone to calf cramps so I love getting the extra potassium both these drinks provide. And because taste matters – the combination works – cherry is strong and tart, and coconut is mild and sweet. On ice it’s a refreshing, tasty drink.

After a run, I simply crush ice and top it with about 3/4 coconut water and 1/4 cherry juice. You can adjust the amounts based on your preference. To get the full health benefits, buy 100% organic/100% tart cherry juice, rather than sugar parading as juice. Also, look for 100% coconut water, some items labeled as “100% coconut juice” contain tons of added sugar. Just watch your labels.

Want to know more about the benefits of cherry juice for runners? See here, here, and here.

One thought on “The Runner’s Tonic

  1. Heide M. March 22, 2014 / 3:23 PM

    Will have to try this, thanks for posting.

Comments are closed.