Split Pea Soup

Blog_January 25, 2013

As I write this, I am trying to choose my favorite soup and I truly can’t narrow it down from my top four:

Split Pea,

Tomato,

Mushroom,

and French Onion.

Clearly, there is a theme. I love vegetable soups, and in loving vegetable soups I prefer them with no meat whatsoever. I know Southerners love their Split Pea Soup with ham hock or bacon. I have just always loved my vegetable soups purely vegetable.

This recipe is a simple, purely pea soup (with some natural seasonings, of course) … and I love it.  A big bowl is so creamy and comforting after a long day, and deliciously healthy. Enjoy! 🙂

This is my favorite vegetable stock because I use a lot and prefer not to have big liquid containers. This is also low sodium and you will be able to read and recognize the ingredients!
This is my favorite vegetable stock – you can find at most natural food stores, if not in your normal grocer. I use a lot of stock and prefer not to have big liquid containers. This is also low sodium and you will be able to read and recognize the ingredients!
Split Pea Soup

 
Recipe Type: Soup
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 35 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 4-6
Simple Split Pea Soup … perfect for a comforting weeknight meal.
Ingredients
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2-3 shallots, diced small
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • S/P
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 pound dried split peas, picked through and rinsed
  • Optional toppings: croutons, Greek yogurt/sour cream, chopped fresh herbs
Instructions
  1. In a large pot or dutch oven, heat the olive oil on medium-high. Add the shallots, garlic, and cumin. Season generously with S/P. Cook, stirring frequently, until the shallots are tender, about 4 minutes. Add the broth, 4 cups water, and split peas and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook until peas are tender and soup is thickened, about 30 minutes. Taste and season with more cumin, S/P as needed. Serve hot with your desired toppings.
 

 

One thought on “Split Pea Soup

  1. Carole March 28, 2013 / 9:49 PM

    Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to dishes using peas and/or green beans. I do hope you link this in. This is the link . Please do check out some of the other links – there are some good ones already. Cheers

Comments are closed.