Lemon & Herb Smoked Salmon Spread

Blog_December 24, 2012

I Love (L.O.V.E.) smoked fish, of any kind. I’ll take it plain pulled off the bone, in a salad, or most likely mixed up in a creamy spread. Some people just love smoky flavors. I happen to be one such person. Smoked Gouda. Smoked Ribs. Smoked trout, tuna, salmon. Yum. Yum. Yum.

Spreads are such a great party food. People tend to devour them, they are easy to make, and usually need no at-party prep. If you prefer your spread in the form of a ball, check this recipe out. They are very similar, but this recipe has a more distinctive lemon and herb flavor (hence the name). And because salmon will forever more remind me of our Alaska trip last year, I’m adding some Alaska pics for you too 🙂

Alaska49_May 28, 2012

Alaska146_May 28, 2012

Alaska278_May 29, 2012

Lemon & Herb Smoked Salmon Spread

 
Recipe Type: Appetizer
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 5 mins
Total time: 10 mins
Ingredients
  • 1 cup smoked salmon
  • 1 (8 oz.) package neufchatel (or cream) cheese (*see note)
  • 1/4 cup loosely packed fresh parsley leaves
  • 5 tsp. horseradish
  • 1 tbsp. chopped fresh dill
  • The juice and zest from one lemon
  • S/P
  • Crackers, apple slices, celery sticks, etc to serve
Instructions
  1. Prepare your salmon by removing any bones and flaking into small pieces. Set aside.
  2. Pulse the remaining ingredients, and a generous amount of S/P to season, in a food processor until combined. Scrape sides as needed. Transfer from food processor to a large bowl and add the salmon. Stir to combine and adjust seasoning as needed. Transfer to a serving bowl. Serve immediately or cover and chill up to 3 days.
 
Notes
I often substitute neufchatel cheese for cream cheese in recipes because of the lower fat content. Both cream cheese and neufchatel cheese work well in this recipe. I don’t ever recommend low-fat varieties of cream cheese, because I think the taste and texture is unappetizing.

 

2 thoughts on “Lemon & Herb Smoked Salmon Spread

  1. Jessica l Food Wine Fashion March 13, 2013 / 2:24 AM

    I LOVE smoked salmon, but have never attempted a spread myself. I also love the suggestion of neufchatel cheese. I assume Whole Foods carries?

    – jessica

    • thequickanddirtycook March 14, 2013 / 6:38 PM

      Thanks Jessica. Whole Foods should carry it, although I usually get mine from Publix so I’m not positive.

Comments are closed.