Simple Side: Old-Bay Roasted Potatoes

Blog_January 14, 2013

Is there a seasoning that conjures up specific memories for you? For me, Old Bay definitely reminds me of seafood boils at home and eating out at beach restaurants. Sunshine, flip-flops, peel and eat shrimp, sand, cold beer, laughter with friends and family … these are all associated with this simple seafood seasoning. Food is so much a part of my memories, those I’ve made and those I  make, that I have a hard time relating to people that don’t take real pleasure in the act of eating good food. Perhaps you’ve forgotten a memorable seasoning? Close your eyes and think about it.  I’m sure there is at least one seasoning intertwined with the memories of a loved one or a favorite past time.  Try cooking with it this week and savor those memories 🙂

So now that you’ve had some food-therapy, on to the recipe! You really can’t get much easier than this … cut, mix, and roast. You can use any potato you like; I’m in love with the small baby potatoes you can buy now. These are also great with sweet potatoes if you like those.

I usually serve as a side – goes great with seafood – but these remind me of tapas I’ve had before too. For tapas, make sure you cut to a manageable bite-size and serve with dipping sauces. I could see this accompanying a chorizo dish wonderfully.

Simple Side: Old-Bay Roasted Potatoes

 
Recipe Type: Side
Cuisine: American
Author: Adapted from a Food Everyday recipe
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 30 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 and 1/2 pounds potatoes, scrubbed and chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Old Bay seasoning
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place the potatoes in a large bowl and add just enough olive oil to coat, about 1 tablespoon. Sprinkle with Old Bay and toss to coat. Lay the potatoes out on a rimmed baking sheet lined with parchment or foil. Bake until golden brown and tender, tossing halfway through, about 30 minutes.
 
Blog_January 14, 2013-2
You can easily roast these with other vegetables on the same pan.

 

