Cheeseburger Pie

 Blog_April 22, 2013

I’m one of those people that has a hard time moving from paper to electronic versions of books and magazine. I just really enjoy the feel of holding a book and flipping pages, and I tend to jot notes or underline in almost everything I read (a remnant law school trait). You would think that as a blogger myself I would be obsessed with food  blogs, and I do love them, but I spend much more time with my beloved cookbooks and cooking magazines. And one of my favorite activities is searching out old, obscure cookbooks. This recipe comes from one such cookbook that features recipes from the small, southern town of Plains, GA (home to President Carter). It was written in 1976 and as a political/history junkie I thought it was really interesting because Mrs. Jimmy Carter was listed in the Plains Jr. Woman’s Club membership roll that put the book together. So, I’m guessing there are maybe 2 people out there that also find that interesting, but that’s the story of how this delicious comfort-food quality dish came to be pictured above 🙂

I had a similar dish like this before as a child, but I never had a recipe so when I saw this listed in the cookbook I knew I wanted to make it. This is my type of comfort-food: a crisp, buttery crust filled with flavorful meat and topped with loads of melted cheese. The original recipe had no vegetables, so I added mushrooms and peppers. It’s not exactly healthy, but when I eat dishes like this I make sure at least 50% of my plate is filled with fresh vegetables to balance it out. I served a big slice of pie with arugula salad with lemon and olive oil, fresh sliced tomatoes, and steamed green beans.

Cheeseburger Pie

 
Recipe Type: Entree
Cuisine: American
Author: Heavily adapted from Plains Pot-Pourri Cookbook (1976)
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 40 mins
Total time: 50 mins
Serves: 8 large slices
Ingredients
  • 2 lbs. ground beef (or turkey)
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • S/P
  • 1/4 cup A-1 steak sauce
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/3 cup dried bread crumbs (I used panko)
  • 1/4 tbsp. dried oregano
  • 2 unbaked deep dish pie shells (found in the frozen section)
  • Splash Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 cups shredded cheese to top
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Take out your pie shells and remove packaging.
  2. Brown the beef in a large skillet until cooked through. Drain the grease and set beef aside in a large bowl.
  3. Reheat the skillet and saute the onion, pepper, and mushrooms over medium-high until tender, about 5 minutes. Stir frequently and season with S/P. Drain, if necessary, and add to the beef.
  4. Stick the pie shells in the oven to lightly brown, about 3-5 minutes only.
  5. As they bake, add the A-1, ketchup, bread crumbs, and oregano to the beef and vegetables and stir to combine.
  6. When the pie shells have browned slightly, take out of the oven and fill with the beef mixture.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove and splash a bit of Worcestershire sauce over top, add cheese to cover top, 1 cup per pie, and return to oven.
  8. Bake until cheese melts and remove. Serve immediately.
 
Notes
*This recipe makes 2 pies; each pie has 4 large slices. If you want to make only 1 pie, half the recipe.

Connect with Q&DK:

Get new recipes in your facebook feed by liking Q&DK (or using the button at the top right)

and in your inbox by signing up at the box to the left! 🙂

 

 

 

One thought on “Cheeseburger Pie

Comments are closed.