Kiwi, Mango, and Vanilla Yogurt Popsicles

kiwimangopops

What is your favorite fruit? Since I was a kid, kiwi has always topped my list. I love to slice one in half and spoon out the tangy, sweet, and slightly crunchy bright green fruit. So, being that I’m a popsicle-making machine this summer I figured I should certainly make some yogurt pops with my favorite fruit.

I recently posted the basic recipe for yogurt pops with a Fourth of July theme and these follow the exact same basic formula – yogurt & fresh fruit, pureed and mixed. To keep these as healthy as possible I pick good quality Greek yogurt and taste the fruit and yogurt to determine how much sugar to add. I like to use vanilla bean yogurt and I don’t add any sugar to that; based on the sweetness of the fruit I may add a teaspoon or two to the fruit purees. My husband and I love these in the summer after a hot workout or an afternoon of yard work! So refreshing!

Kiwi, Mango, and Vanilla Yogurt Popsicles

 
Recipe Type: Snack, Sweet
Cuisine: American
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 2 ripe kiwi fruit, skinned and chopped in quarters
  • 1 large ripe mango, skinned and chopped
  • 2 tsp. sugar, divided
  • 1 and 1/2 cups Greek Yogurt (I prefer plain or vanilla bean)
Instructions
  1. In a food processor or blender, blend the kiwis with 1 teaspoon sugar until your desired consistency. If you have a small processor, that works best for such a small amount. (You can also simply chop finely and mix with the sugar. Mine were done this way because I like chunky fruit pieces in my pops). Taste and add more sugar if needed.
  2. Do the same with the mango and the other teaspoon of sugar. (You may not need sugar for mango, I would taste first)
  3. Fill the molds with 3 layers – kiwi, yogurt, and mango. Feel free to mix up the order. Use a chopstick or skewer to swirl the mixes with an up-and-down, side-to-side motion. Insert the pop sticks and freeze until solid.
 
Notes
For this recipe, I used 4 standard sized popsicle molds. You may need to adjust the amounts based on what size molds you use, or how many you are making.

 

 

