Garlic Scape and Swiss Chard Pesto

garlic scape pesto

As promised from yesterday’s post, here is my recipe for garlic scape and Swiss chard pesto. When my farmer friend Molly brought me a bag of garlic scapes I wasn’t even sure what they were and she explained they were the edible tops of garlic plants. Who knew?

I wasn’t sure what to make with them so I did a little search and found this recipe for garlic scape pesto. Reading some of the comments, however, made me think it was way too many garlic scapes and needed a little something else. Enter the Swiss chard. I modified the original substantially and was really happy with the result: a filling, healthy, perky little pesto that I devoured. If you’re not feeling the pasta, I also used this as a sauce base for pizza and Oh.My.God.

Recipe notes: To make this recipe vegan, simply omit the cheese and add more pistachios or other nut. For a little kick of heat, add the half jalapeno. I don’t recommend any more than that because the garlic scapes have a kick as well.

Pasta with Garlic Scape and Swiss Chard Pesto

 
Recipe Type: Entree
Cuisine: Italian
Author: Heavily adapted, Ian Knauer’s The Farm
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 4-6
Ingredients
  • 5 large garlic scapes
  • 2 cups torn Swiss chard leaves (not the stems)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted pistachios
  • 1/3 cup finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • Pinch black pepper
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeds removed (optional)
  • 1 pound cooked pasta
Instructions
  1. Process all ingredients from garlic scapes to black pepper in a food processor until finely chopped. With the motor running, slowly pour the oil through the opening. Process until smooth, stop, and taste. Adjust seasoning as needed.
  2. Toss cooked pasta with the pesto or spread on bread, pizza dough, etc.
  3. Keeps in the fridge, covered, for 1 week or frozen for a month.
 
Notes
*To make this recipe vegan, simply omit the cheese and add more pistachios or other nut. *For a little kick of heat, add the half jalapeno. I don’t recommend any more than that because the garlic scapes have a kick as well.

garlic scape pesto2

