Baked Fish with Herbed Yogurt and Panko Topping

Baked Fish with Herbed Yogurt and Panko Topping

This is an extraordinarily easy fish recipe that I love because it has a “built-in” creamy and flavorful sauce. It’s kind of like tender fish topped with warm tartar sauce and crunchy breadcrumbs, but no mayo was involved. 🙂

Another reason I love this recipe is because I often have fresh herbs I need to use up, either from my garden or because I bought some for a recipe and only used a tiny bit, and this recipe works with just about any fresh herb.

I used turbot for this recipe, but any mild white fish will do. Thicker fillets, however, do tend to hold up better with a sauce like this. I also make something similar with salmon, so you could do that too.

Baked Fish with Herbed Yogurt and Panko Topping
 
Recipe Type: Entree
Cuisine: Seafood
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 25 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 large white fish fillet, or 4 individual fillets (about 1 lb. of fish)
  • Olive oil
  • S/P
  • 7 oz. plain Greek yogurt
  • 2-3 tbsp. fresh mixed herbs (I used basil, parsley, and rosemary), washed and minced
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a rimmed pan with parchment or foil.
  2. Top with the fish fillet(s).
  3. Drizzle each fillet with olive oil and season generously with S/P.
  4. Combine the yogurt and herbs in a bowl until combined and then slather on the fish.
  5. Sprinkle the breadcrumbs over each fillet and place in the oven.
  6. Cook until opaque throughout, about 15-20 minutes depending on the fillet thickness.
 

 

