Caramelized Roasted Pineapple with Yogurt and Granola

Roasted Pineapple

Sweets. My husband and I both love something sweet after dinner, so I am constantly trying to find healthy desserts because otherwise we end up with …

cake

cookies

cupcakes

chocolate … you get the idea. Given I have never been good at “cutting out,” I try to keep my sweets but indulge in the unhealthy ones moderately. Moderation people, it’s key. At least for me anyways.

Fruit is my kind of go-to healthy dessert. Adding a protein or healthy fat like yogurt helps to balance sweets with a higher glycemic load, such as pineapple, so this is a win-win. You get the healthy, anti-inflammatory benefits of pineapple, the calcium and protein of yogurt, and a balanced glycemic load. Sweet, indeed.

Recipe notes: I added strawberries to this when I served, but have not included those in the recipe. Feel free to add any additional fruit you may have available.

Caramelized Roasted Pineapple with Yogurt and Granola
 
Recipe Type: Dessert or Snack
Author: Slightly adapted, Bon Appetit March 2012
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 30 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 3 tbsp. honey (or agave)
  • 1 ripe pineapple, peeled, cored, cut lengthwise into wedges
  • Your favorite yogurt
  • Your favorite granola/nuts
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment or foil.
  2. Stir the sugar, OJ, and honey together in a large bowl until the sugar dissolves. Add pineapple and toss to coat. Let marinate, tossing occasionally, for 10 minutes.
  3. Place pineapple on baking sheet and reserve marinade.
  4. Roast pineapple for 15 minutes. Turn, brush with marinade, and roast another 10-15 minutes until caramelized. Divide pineapple among plates and drizzle with remaining marinade. Serve with yogurt and granola.
 

 

