15-minute Chicken and Vegetable Tostadas

 Chicken  Tostadas

Rushing home from a busy day and tempted to stop for something take-out or drive-thru based? I know the temptation, for sure.

But you’d be surprised at the kind of healthy meals you can make with very few ingredients and just a quick run into the grocery store. I always try to remind myself of this because if I’m eating out at all, I’d rather spend my money eating out at a quality restaurant, rather than grabbing something I’ll regret. Your body will thank you afterwards too.

With the help of a deli chicken, you can whip this meal up at warp-speed and you will have a nice, hot and healthy meal in no time. Sound good?

15-minute Chicken and Vegetable Tostadas
 
Recipe Type: Entree
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 5 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 deli-rotisserie chicken
  • 4 tortillas, any variety will do
  • 1 cup salsa (I like the green “verde” style for these and love Frontera brand)
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 cup chopped vegetables (use what you have or pick what looks good, it doesn’t really matter so long as you like it!)
  • Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • Fresh cilantro to top, optional
Instructions
  1. Shred the chicken. Place the tortillas on a large foil-lined baking sheet.
  2. Spread each tortilla with a generous amount of salsa. Top the tortillas with shredded chicken, corn, and chopped vegetables. Top with shredded cheese.
  3. Broil the tortillas until the cheese melts, about 3 minutes.
 

 chicken tostada2

