Thanksgiving Side Dishes: Pumpkin with White Beans and Bacon

pumpkin side dish

Maybe you are ahead of the game and already have your meal completely worked out for Thanksgiving. If you’re like me, however, you wait until the week before because you can never really believe how quickly Thanksgiving arrived in the first place!

To help out with that Thanksgiving meal planning, I plan on posting a different side dish each day this week.  Of course, these side dishes are good just about any time of the year. They are all fairly simple, quick, and all delicious. 

And I am starting with my favorite of the bunch … this bright and beautiful pumpkin dish. The only bummer about this dish is cutting the pumpkin. Maybe it’s my lack of really great knives or really great knife skills, but I HATE cutting pumpkins and large winter squash. I mean, really, cutting those suckers is a serious bitch. I almost always have to enlist my husband to help and boy do I hate asking a man to hold my knife. But despite all this, one bite of this dish makes it totally worth having to chop up a fresh pumpkin. 🙂

Thanksgiving Side Dishes: Pumpkin with White Beans and Bacon
 
Recipe Type: Side Dish
Author: Slightly adapted, Real Simple October 2013
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 30 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 4 slices bacon (or more if you LOVE bacon)
  • 1 small sugar pumpkin (sometimes called a “baking or pie” pumpkin), about 1 and 1/2 pounds, peeled, seeded, and chopped into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp. fresh oregano or thyme leaves
  • S/P
  • 1 (15.5 oz) can cannellini beans, rinsed
  • 1 tbsp. red wine vinegar (or another variety – I like champagne vinegar)
Instructions
  1. Cook bacon in a skillet or in the oven. I prefer to line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and cook at 400 degrees until crisp. Either way, reserve some of the grease. Once cooked, drain on paper towels and set aside.
  2. Add the pumpkin and a tbsp. or so of the bacon grease to a large skillet over medium heat. Cook until browned, about 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the broth, herbs, and season generously with S/P. Cover and cook, stirring occassionally, until the pumpkin is tender, 6 to 8 minutes more. Add the beans and vinegar and heat through, another few minutes. Top with bacon and serve hot.
 

BLOG_November 12, 2013-4

 

 

