Georgian Lobio: Green Beans with Eggs and Chiles

Green bean lobio

Hi guys! How was your Thanksgiving?  I hope you enjoyed a great holiday with people you love. 🙂

Like most years we traveled home to Florida to visit family, which means I actually do very little cooking during a time when most everyone else is up to their necks in gravy and pie filling. It’s actually a very nice break from the kitchen!

My favorite foods usually include nothing on a Thanksgiving spread, so I don’t get that attached to the holiday food. I just enjoy the time to be with family and in the warmth of Florida. And since my family is also not attached to turkey … we dined on fresh snapper and stone crab fresh from the Keys! It was a perfect meal and my sister prepared a delicious pumpkin pie for dessert … because, of course, pumpkin pie is a must!

crab legs

What was your Thanksgiving spread like? Does your family do anything unique for the holiday??

Spending a little time in the sunshine right when it has begun to get cold in Atlanta was just what I needed. Starting with the flight to Florida, we had great weather and views like this …

clouds

and this …

beach

and I got to do things like this …

beach1

and this …

family

SERIOUSLY though, is there anything better than baby hands and feet? Not in my book.

So, there you have it, my Thanksgiving in pictures! And now on to food …

I’m guessing, in all my infinite wisdom, that you are ready for something that does not include turkey or potato? Maybe?

If I’m right, I have a dish here that is not only one of my favorite new dishes, but also nothing like what you find at most Thanksgiving spreads. This is a Georgian dish (as in the Republic, not the state) that includes green beans, chiles, eggs, and cilantro. I love the textures and flavors … crispy green beans and chiles mixed with soft, warm scrambled eggs. The taste is very unique and is another dish I have added to our meatless dinner rotation. You can serve it cooled or warm (I prefer it warm with a drizzle of Sriacha). Try it and let me know what you think!

Green bean lobio2

Georgian Lobio: Green Beans with Eggs and Chiles
 
Recipe Type: Entree or Side
Cuisine: Georgian
Author: Food and Wine, from Dacha Grilling Party
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 30 mins
Serves: 4-6
Ingredients
  • 1 pound green beans, trimmed and washed
  • 1 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 5 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • S/P
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro
  • 2 tbsp. chopped walnuts
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded and minced
  • 1 small red chile, seeded and minced
Instructions
  1. Boil the green beans until crisp-tender, about 6 minutes. Drain and set aside in a large bowl.
  2. In a large skillet, melt the butter and oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until softened. Add the eggs and scramble until cooked through. Season with S/P.
  3. Add the cooked eggs to the green beans and stir in the cilantro, walnuts, garlic, jalapeno, and chile. Taste and season as needed with S/P. Serve warm or cool.
 

 

 

