Overnight Oat and Quinoa Superfoods Cereal

hot cereal

Twenty-fourteen is upon us, and like most,  you are probably itching to start off the new year with some healthy eating habits. Like breakfast. Yes, breakfast. Your grandma, your doctor, your preacher, your dog … they will all tell you the same thing – breakfast is so important!

I know this, and yet I have a really hard time following that advice, mainly because on most days I leave the house before the sun is even starting to come up. But, I’ve tried really hard to incorporate a break in my morning for breakfast once I get to work and when I do, I can definitely tell the difference in my day. Another reason I’ve never been on good terms with breakfast (let me clarify – weekday breakfast – because weekend breakfast, on the other hand, is my best friend) is because it can be very difficult to find healthy breakfast choices you can take on the go. And mama ain’t about to wake up at 5 am to whip up egg whites and vegetables.

So, when I started seeing a lot of overnight oats recipes a while back, I started to experiment with making a breakfast cereal that was 1. healthy, 2. portable, 3. easy to make, and of course, 4. yummy. And this my friends, is the result of many batches of overnight oats …

I usually make this on the weekend and I portion it into small containers for work. This recipe makes enough for 5 generous servings. I also bring an extra container of almond milk and a container of the dry toppings. Then, I pour a little almond milk on the cereal (I like mine extra saucy), heat it in the micro (use glass containers if you plan on doing the same), and top with the goodies. Healthy, filling, yummy breakfast? Check.

 hot cereal1

Recipe notes: I give you two options for making this – overnight (resting method) or stove-top method. I’ve done both and I haven’t tasted a difference. If I am making something else at the same time I might just stick the pot on the stove and make it at the same time so I can get it packed up for the work week. Otherwise, I use the overnight method. You can totally mix up the dry toppings to suit your preferences – a lot of recipes call for the fruit cooked with the oats but I don’t recommend that at all.  I don’t like the gummy, bloated quality that lends to dried fruit. Enjoy! 🙂

Overnight Oat and Quinoa Superfoods Cereal
 
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 25 mins
Total time: 30 mins
Serves: 5
Ingredients
  • Dry Toppings:
  • Goji berries
  • Other dried fruit (my favorites are golden berries, raspberries, and strawberries)
  • Hemp seeds
  • Chopped walnuts or almonds
  • Cereal:
  • 2/3 cup steel-cut oats
  • 1/3 cup quinoa, well-rinsed
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups milk (I use almond milk, any type will do)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 3 tbsp. ground flax seed
Instructions
  1. Combine the dry topping ingredients (goji, dried fruit, hemp seeds, nuts, etc) in a container using a ratio you like. This is simply a combination of extremely healthy ingredients that add flavor and texture to the cereal that I like to add with each individual serving right before eating.
  2. Add the oats, quinoa, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, milk, and water in a medium saucepan over high heat. Bring to a boil and remove from heat. Stir in the wheat germ and flax seed, cover and let sit off the heat overnight. The next morning, transfer to a storage container and keep refrigerated for up to a week.
  3. Alternatively, you can continue to cook at a simmer for about 25 minutes until the oats are tender. Remove from heat, stir in the wheat germ and flax seed, and transfer to a storage container once cooled.
 
These are some of the toppings I like to use.
These are some of the toppings I like to use.

 

Flax and wheat germ ... easy additions for added health benefits!
Flax and wheat germ … easy additions for added health benefits!

 

 

