Green Energizer Juice {my favorite juice recipe}

juice

I hope 2014 is treating you well so far! I’m trying to get rid of the last of my “holiday cold” (Christmas was in bed this year, literally) and gear up to go back to work on Monday. If you’ve been on holiday, I can totally understand how difficult it is to get into work mode again. 6am alarms sound about as wonderful as a root canal right now. That’s why I thought now is the perfect time to introduce you to my favorite homemade juice. Maybe you need a little help, too.

A lot of folks like to do juice cleansing in the new year so this is a great juice to throw in the mix. I have not had a ton of success with juice cleansing, simply because I don’t have the will power to go without food … but I love fresh juice in the mornings. So whether you are cleansing, or simply adding a new juice to your routine, I think you will love this Green Energizer. It is refreshing, a little tart, sweet, and has just the right amount of zing thanks to the ginger.  This recipe makes about 3 regular-sized Mason jars worth of juice.

Last year I wrote about adding fruit and vegetable smoothies to my diet, and since then I have also added juicing after receiving a juicer from my mom. (Moms are the best!). I have a Breville Juice Fountain, which is a very affordable model, and I absolutely love it. It is small enough to sit on my counter and it is easy to use and clean. If you don’t have a juicer, see my earlier post about smoothies and you can still add more fruit and vegetable goodness to your diet. And if you want more recipe ideas for a healthy and tasty 2014, make sure to sign up for posts via email (see sign up to the left) and like Q&DK on facebook (see link to the left) to get all new posts in your feed!

Green Energizer Juice {my favorite juice recipe}
 
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 5 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 3-4
Ingredients
  • 2 heads of romaine, washed
  • 3 cucumbers, peeled
  • 3 green apples, washed
  • 2 pears, washed
  • A fresh piece of ginger, about 1 inch long
  • 1 large, or 2 small limes, halved
Instructions
  1. Wash and cut your produce as needed to fit your juicer. I usually slice the apples and pears in half and put everything else in whole.
  2. Juice all ingredients except for the lime, pouring the juice into your preferred containers. Using a citrus squeezer or your hands, squeeze the lime into a measuring cup and divide among your juice containers.
 
Notes
I put the ginger right in mine without peeling, but you can peel if you prefer. My juicer does not do citrus unless it is peeled, so I just squeeze my citrus separately. I always buy organic apples because they are the #1 pesticide contaminated produce and they are fairly inexpensive to buy at regular grocers. Cucumbers are also listed on the dirty dozen, but organic can be really expensive (at least at my grocer). If you can’t buy organic, make sure to peel these well. If you want more information about the dirty dozen, download EWG’s (Environmental Working Group) Shopper’s Guide or find them online.

 

 

