Curried Butternut Squash Soup

butternut squash soup

In an earlier life I was not really a fan of soup in general, but over the years things have definitely changed. I tend to like vegetable-based soups and the more I learn about making soup at home, the more I’ve grown to love a good bowl (especially during the cold winter months). Some of my favorites are homemade ramen soup, french onion, creamy kale soup, and Mexican albondiga soup.

This recipe will definitely be a staple for me … it was easy to make and super tasty. (But to me honest, I HATE cutting butternut squash – that is now my husband’s job. This link is a good tutorial). Plus, I’m a huge sucker for recipes that have a short ingredient list. I made a batch and we ate it for several days. I plan on making this again soon and packing for lunches. I topped with fresh pomegranate and S/P almond slivers for some added texture. When visiting Ecuador we are often served soup topped with popcorn or pork rinds. I’ve adopted that habit and love trying different toppings on my soup.

If you also begin to discover the joys of making homemade soup, I highly recommend investing in an immersion blender. Instead of transferring hot ingredients to a blender or processor to mix, you can keep all the ingredients in the pot and mix with this. I also use immersion blenders to make sauces and homemade whipped cream because most come with a whisk attachment.

I have a very cheap (less than $20 model), but I want to upgrade to the beauty below (still affordable at under $35 on Amazon) to match the mini-processor I just bought in the same color. Multicolored kitchen tools are my thing. Why go with black & white when you can have all the colors of the rainbow? 🙂

 

Here’s the recipe – I hope you enjoy!

Curried Butternut Squash Soup
 
Recipe Type: Soup
Author: Adapted from Wine magazine (Publix)
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 50 mins
Total time: 1 hour
Serves: 8
Ingredients
  • 3 pounds butternut squash (peeled, seeded, and cut into 1-inch cubes, about 7 cups)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 3 cups reduced-sodium chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 medium tart apple (Granny Smith, for example) peeled, cored, and coarsely chopped (1 cup)
  • 1 (14 ounce) can unsweetened coconut milk
Instructions
  1. In a dutch oven, or large pot, cook the onion in hot oil about 5 minutes until tender. Stir in ginger, curry, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper. Add the broth and bring to a boil. Add the squash and apple. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook, covered, 40 minutes or until squash is very tender when pierced with a fork. Remove from heat and cool slightly.
  2. If you have an immersion blender, use this to blend the soup in the Dutch oven until smooth. (Alternatively, work in batches and transfer to a food processor or blender and process until smooth. Return the blended soup to the Dutch oven.) Stir in the coconut milk and bring back to a warm temperature. Serve immediately. Stays good for several days in the refrigerator.
 

 

