NY Strip Steak with Cilantro Chile Sauce {and a LaCense Grassfed Beef Review}

 grassfed steak

 When I was thinking of what to buy my brother-in-law for Christmas, I went for something food-based because we both love good, healthy food. And what guy doesn’t love a cooler full of beef? I ordered a sampler from La Cense Beef – a company I had never personally tried. So imagine my surprise when the cooler showed up at my house, literally 2 minutes after telling my sister to keep an eye out for the delivery. Apparently I had convinced myself, in the holiday rush, that I had shipped the order to my BIL despite the fact I had several confirmation emails clearly showing it was heading my way. Uh-oh. I quickly sent my BIL another order and now I had something new to try as well.

We started with these NY strip steaks and then also tried their steak burgers. Both were delicious and I got great reviews from my sister and BIL as well.

We try to limit our red meat and after being a vegetarian for so many years, and cognizant of the many problems associated with industrial farming, I try get grass fed beef whenever possible. Local is preferable, but I have been disappointed with some of the beef I have purchased at local farmers’ markets so I decided to try a company that had good reviews.  Although I order a lot of frozen seafood, I had never tried beef and was skeptical it would hold up well frozen – I rarely freeze anything. This beef, however, tasted fresh and flavorful. The color of the steaks was a deep red (like a “wine” color) and just the look of it told me it wasn’t the same as what you often find at the supermarket – either browning or pumped with red coloring. 

 I will be ordering again in the future. If you would like more information about grass fed vs. grain fed beef, these are some good reads. There is a lot of debate, but I personally prefer to go the grass fed route whenever possible. And I definitely agree with this article on the top 10 reasons to eat grass fed. Knowing your plate is good for body & soul. 🙂

*Of course, this recipe will work with any cut of steak, grass fed or grain fed. Simply use a meat thermometer to reach your desired level of doneness for any given cut.

NY Strip Steak with Cilantro Chile Sauce {and a LaCense Grassfed Beef Review}
 
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 30 mins
Serves: 2
Ingredients
  • 2 bone-in NY Strip Steaks, about 14 oz. each
  • Montreal Steak seasoning mix
  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 1/2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 jalapeno, cut into fours
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. ground coriander
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
Instructions
  1. Let steaks come to room temperature, about 30 minutes. Season both sides generously with a Montreal Steak seasoning mix, or with fresh ground S/P.
  2. Combine all ingredients from cilantro to olive oil in a mini food processor and process until smooth and resembles a pesto. Alternatively, you can finely chop and combine everything by hand.
  3. Set your oven to broil (500 degrees) and move the oven rack to the top third position (1 rung above the middle). On a stove set to medium-high heat, melt the butter in an oven-proof skillet and add the steaks to the skillet. Cook for about 3 minutes until nicely seared on the first side. Flip the steak and move to the oven. Cook until your desired temperature, about 3-5 minutes for medium rare. Take out of the oven about 5 degrees before the desired temperature and let rest 5-10 minutes. Serve hot with the Cilantro Chile sauce.
 

 

