Molletes with Pico de Gallo

Molletes

Yesterday we got snow here in Atlanta! Having spent most my life in Florida, I consider myself a “Florida girl” and seeing snow every few years is perfectly fine. I get really excited, go outside and enjoy it, and then look forward to the warmth returning.

As a teacher it is really wonderful to see our students’ anticipation and excitement grow as the flurries begin – I remember how excited I was when I saw snow for the first time. Unfortunately, the snow turned our highways into skating rinks (we are not equipped to handle the weather like our friends to the North) and traffic congestion was horrible because most people had gone to school or work. As a result we had some major traffic issues and I’ve heard stories of literally being in the car for 12+ hours stranded on the highway! Some students and teachers were stuck in schools overnight. I can’t imagine, and I have to admit I felt a bit guilty having arrived home early with no problems. As another days begins, I hope everyone is home safe and warm. 🙂

This is an easy-peasy recipe that I absolutely love – maybe something you can put on the table after a rough start to the week. I usually serve these with a big green salad or hot soup. When I studied in Mexico, Molletes were certainly one of my favorite meals – simple Mexican comfort food gets me every time. You can easily customize these by adding toppings like ham, chorizo, tuna, or vegetables.

Molletes with Pico de Gallo
 
Cuisine: Mexican
Author: Pati Jinich, Pati’s Mexican Table
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 4-8
Ingredients
  • 4 teleras, bolillos, or baguettes, sliced in half length-wise and cut into 5 to 6-inche pieces
  • 2 cups refried beans (I love Bush’s Cocina Latina brand)
  • 2 cups shredded cheese (I prefer Monterrey Jack or a white cheddar)
  • Pico de Gallo (making it yourself is totally worth it, but you can also use regular store-bought salsa) –>
  • 3 large tomatoes, cored and chopped
  • 1 jalapeno (optional)
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, rinsed and lower stems removed
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • Splash of olive oil
  • Dash of salt/pepper
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spread each piece of bread with refried beans and top with cheese. Arrange on a baking sheet or directly on the oven racks.
  3. While they bake make the pico de gallo by combining all ingredients (tomatoes through S/P) in a food processor until finely chopped. Alternatively, chop by hand and mix well.
  4. Bake for 8-10 minutes until the cheese has melted and there is a nice toasted crust on the bread. Remove from oven and spread with pico de gallo. Eat hot.
  5. Store any leftover pico de gallo in the fridge, up to 7 days.
 

 

