Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

choc chip cookies

For most of my life I never really cared for chocolate chip cookies. I know, crazy. But I was always in love with brownies and felt no need to dabble in cookies. I’m fairly convinced that I know the absolute best brownie recipe, but I’ve been playing around lately with a lot of chocolate chip cookie recipes.

Once I realized I could literally make dozens of different types of chocolate chip cookies I became more interested in this classic dessert. The last recipe I worked on was the crispy cookies and I was surprised by how much I loved them despite my tendency to under-bake everything because I love gooey, doughy sweets.

This recipe has a chewy, soft texture similar to soft-baked cookies you might buy at the grocery. I used mini chocolate chips because I had a bunch, but I highly recommend either chopping baking chocolate or mixing a variety of sized chips (mini, chunks, etc) to ensure a nice spread of chocolately goodness. If you like a soft texture, I highly recommend these light, browned butter chocolate chip cookies also!

Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
 
Recipe Type: Dessert
Author: Adapted, Dorie Greenspan
Serves: 3-4 dozen
Ingredients
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter at room temp
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups mixed chocolate chips or 12 oz. bittersweet chocolate chopped into chips
Instructions
  1. Center one of your oven racks, put the other at the next level down, and preheat to 375 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment.
  2. Whisk together flour, salt, and baking soda. Beat butter and sugars on medium speed for 3 minutes until well blended. Beat in vanilla. Add eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each addition.
  3. Reduce mixer to low; add dry ingredients in three portions, mixing only until each addition is incorporated (15 seconds should be fine).
  4. On low speed, or by hand, mix in the chocolate chips.
  5. Spoon dough in rounded tablespoons onto the baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches between each. Place a few chips on the top of each cookie.
  6. Bake cookies – rotating sheets and switching from bottom to center rack at halfway point – for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown in center. Remove from heat, let rest 1 minutes, and then transfer (using a spatula) to a wire rack to cool completely. Let baking sheets cool and then repeat with remaining dough. If dough starts to get too warm, place in fridge or freezer while you wait.
 

 

One thought on “Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Comments are closed.