Ultimate Soft-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies {and tips for baking chocolate chip cookies}

soft-baked chocolate chip cookies

I’ve been a cookie-making machine lately. For someone who has really never LOVED cookies, this is crazy. But, I seem to have collected a large assortment of chocolate chip cookie recipes and that got me started on a quest to find the best of the best.

And although cookies have not traditionally been on my top dessert list, I have ALWAYS LOVED cookie dough. I’m blaming it all on the dough. Gooey, sticky, sweet, delicious cookie dough. You devil, you. I’ve become swept up into a cookie making frenzy that includes eating several spoonfuls of heavenly cookie dough before any actual baking occurs. This could become a problem.

I’ve found my favorite crispy chocolate chip cookie. My favorite soft & chewy cookie. And next I will be posting a vegan version that is unlike anything I’ve tried before, but so so yummy.

But let’s discuss these beautiful cookies all dolled up for the upcoming Easter holiday. These cookies are thick, soft, and seriously delicious. These are lofty and pillow-like, so are perfect for adding holiday candies for decoration. The batter is much more fluffy than most batters I’ve used and it translates into super soft, pillow-like cookies that melt in your mouth. This recipe is adapted from my favorite food blog’s Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies. By far, these are my favorite soft-baked style chocolate chip cookie. I think you will love them.  🙂

Some tips for amazing chocolate chip cookies:

*Follow the butter instructions exactly. This recipe uses a particular butter method that helps to create the soft texture. Cookies are often ruined by incorrect butter temperature.

*Use parchment or baking mats to prevent sticking. I absolutely love my silicone baking mats which are easily available on Amazon. I use those only, no cooking spray or butter.

*Up the vanilla. I always increase the vanilla in cookie recipes and I am convinced it leads to better tasting cookies.

*Use a variety of chips. If you want chocolate spread consistently through the cookie, chocolate baking bars are best. Finely chop those and use in place of chips. I substitute one bar per bag of chips listed in a recipe.

*Don’t put dough on warm sheets. In between batches I always stick my dough in the fridge.

soft-baked chocolate chip cookies

Ultimate Soft-Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies
 
Recipe Type: Dessert
Author: Adapted, Pinch of Yum (see link in post)
Serves: 4 dozen
Ingredients
  • 14 tbsp. butter (1 stick + 6 tbsp.)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp. packed light brown sugar
  • 4 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 and 1/2 cups all purpose unbleached flour
  • 2 bags chocolate chips (I use a mix of milk chocolate chips and semi-sweet chunks)
Instructions
  1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Place the butter in an oven proof bowl (glass works great) and stick in the oven. Keep an eye on the butter and let melt about 1/3 the way. It should take about 5 minutes. Don’t let the butter melt more than 1/2 down, 1/3 is ideal. You will still see the stick of butter and it will be surrounded by melted butter. Take the butter out and let come back to room temp, about 30 minutes. It will be a soft solid. Turn the oven off.
  2. Once cooled, place the butter in a large mixing bowl. Add the sugars and vanilla. Cream with an electric mixer until well-mixed and lightly fluffy. Stop when it becomes fluffy so you don’t overbeat the butter. Add the eggs and beat just until incorporated.
  3. Add the baking soda and salt to the dough. 1/2 cup at a time add the flour to the dough, beating just to incorporate after each addition. After you have added all the flour, the dough should pull away from the bowl and cling together. If it is too sticky, add a tbsp. of flour at a time until it forms a large ball and will easily pull away from the sides of the mixing bowl when stirred.
  4. Reserve about 1/2 cup chocolate chips and pour the rest into the dough; stir to incorporate. I like to use a variety of chocolate chips. For chocolate crumbs throughout, you can also chop a semi-sweet baking bar and add that in place of chips.
  5. Preheat the oven to 350 and adjust racks to the top and bottom thirds of the oven. Drop heaping tablespoons of dough onto a baking sheet, about 1 inch between cookies. I use a cookie scoop that I spray with cooking spray, but a regular spoon works well too. Top each cookie with a few chips. Bake about 8-10 minutes; rotate and switch the baking sheets halfway through (move top to bottom, vice versa, and rotate the sheets front to back). Take them out when they are puffy and just beginning to brown on the tops and edges. They may look undercooked, but they will continue to brown and firm up once removed. Let cool a few minutes and then transfer to cookie racks to cool completely. They won’t be as puffy as they were in the oven, but they should be soft, lofty, and hold together well.
  6. Try not to eat the entire batch.
 

 

This is what your butter should look like after melting in the oven.
This is what your butter should look like after melting in the oven.
