Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

vegan chocolate chip cookie bars

TGIF!! I just watched the Nashville on the Record concert – love that show! I’m usually not a country music fan, but I love the music and the actors on the show. After I get this post up, I’m heading to the grill to cook up a huge salmon fillet for a relaxing dinner at home. I hope you have a fabulous weekend filled with some good food – like these delicious cookie bars!

A friend of mine eliminated dairy while breastfeeding and sent this recipe to me. She found it at the blog Milk Free Mom, which has a ton of great recipes if you’re forgoing dairy. We love almond milk at this house, but I don’t do a ton of vegan baking. This recipe was so easy, and so delicious, I will definitely look into more vegan sweets.

My husband could tell there was a distinct flavor from the sunflower butter, but would have never guessed they were vegan. They are incredibly sweet and moist with a crumbly exterior. The center seems to stay a bit more dense and the outer shell crumbles a bit, but they are delicious from top to bottom. Fresh out of the oven – oh my! I can eat half the pan.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars
Recipe Type: Dessert
Author: Milk Free Mom (blog)
Ingredients
  • 3/4 cup Sunbutter (you can sub peanut butter or any other nut butter)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (I used almond milk)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup Enjoy Life Foods chips or chunks (or reg. chocolate chips for nonvegan option)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8×8 baking dish.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the Sunbutter, oil and sugar, then add the milk and vanilla. Stir in the flour, salt, and baking powder.
  3. Gently fold in the chocolate chips. Spread the dough evenly in the baking pan and press it into place.
  4. Bake for 22 to 25 minutes. The edges should start to lightly brown, and the center should feel semi-firm. Let cool completely before slicing.

 

