Creamy Tuscan Chicken with Spinach

BLOG_May 02, 2014

Happy Saturday everyone!

It actually feels like spring here and I LOVE it. A cool breeze, sunshine, and blooming flowers make me oh so happy. I usually don’t run with my phone, but I’ve been carrying it with me because I’m obsessed with documenting the spring beauty in my neighborhood! What is your favorite thing about spring?

BLOG_May 02, 2014-2

I am taking a little break from a beautiful day on the porch to get up this post. I made this last night and liked it so much I decided to post it asap. One skillet and a fairly short ingredient list makes a really simply but delicious meal. I served it as is for a low carb entree, but this would also be great over pasta or rice, or with roasted baby potatoes. You could experiment with the Italian seasoning I used on the chicken and use any variety of dried herbs/spices. I really liked Badia’s Garlic & Parsley.

Enjoy your Saturday everyone!

Creamy Tuscan Chicken with Spinach
Recipe Type: Entree
Cuisine: Italian
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 25 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 4 tbsp. flour, divided
  • 1-2 tsp. Italian seasoning blend (I like Badia’s Garlic & Parsley)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 4 boneless chicken cutlets, thin-sliced (about 1.15 lbs)
  • 2 tbsp. Olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 (14.5oz) can Diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano (no salt added variety), undrained
  • 1 and 1/2 cups Progresso’s Tuscany Chicken Broth (or regular chicken broth)
  • 8 cups loosely packed baby spinach leaves
  • 2 tbsp. cream or half-and-half
Instructions
  1. Mix together 3 tbsp. of the flour, seasoning blend, and S/P on a plate or shallow dish. Coat each chicken cutlet in the flour, shaking excess.
  2. Heat 1 tbsp. of olive oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook about 2-3 minutes per side or until browned and cooked through. Add more oil if needed. Remove the chicken from skillet and set aside. Tent with foil or stick in the oven to keep warm.
  3. Heat another tbsp. of olive oil in the same skillet, scraping up browned bits from the chicken. Add the onion; cook a few minutes until tender. Stir in the remaining 1 tbsp. of flour. Add the tomatoes and stock. (If you use a low-sodium chicken stock you may want to add some salt/seasoning. The Tuscany blend I mentioned in the ingredient list will not need any more seasoning.) Bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for about 5 minutes.
  4. Turn the heat off and add the spinach leaves in batches. Stir constantly so the spinach wilts and softens. Once the spinach is softened, stir in the cream. Add the chicken and serve immediately.

Save

