Truly Tasty Turkey Burger

 

While the idea of a turkey burger – healthy, low-fat, etc. – usually sounds good to me, I rarely like them because they tend to be dry and tasteless. I’ll take beef, thank you.

But this recipe changed that completely. Yogurt and a unique blend of herbs and spices make these burgers moist and super tasty. Garam masala is often used in Indian cuisine and imparts a rich, sweet spice to the turkey. Roasted red chili paste can be found in the Asian section of most grocers; I buy small bottles from the Thai Kitchen brand. I absolutely love the roasted, spicy flavor this gives to all kinds of dishes. Despite the good amount of spices, these are not “hot” spicy burgers – they are very flavorful and slightly sweet with a touch of spice. Let me know what you think!

Now that it’s grilling season we will be seeing a lot more of these. During the winter, I cook them up in a grill pan and yum, yum, yum. I love these on a bed of greens, but they are just as good on a bun or wrapped in a pita.

I will be MIA for the next week as we are heading to Mexico for VACATION!! Yes sir, yes sir. Vacation. Hope you have one of those in your future too; everyone deserves vacation. 🙂

 

Truly Tasty Turkey Burger
Recipe Type: Entree
Author: Q&DK
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Total time: 30 mins
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 pound ground turkey (I use regular, not turkey breast which is drier)
  • 3 tbsp. Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp. Garam Masala spice
  • 2 tbsp. bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. roasted red chili paste
  • 1 tsp. salt
Instructions
  1. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Do not overmix – just enough to combine all ingredients well. Form into 4 patties.
  2. Although not necessary, I like to chill my turkey burgers about 1 hour before I cook, especially if I am grilling. I think it helps to deepen flavor and firm up the patty.
  3. Brush each patty with oil (especially if grilling because these are low-fat and will stick). Cook on a skillet/grill pan set over medium heat, turning once, until patties reach 165 degrees internally and is cooked through. Alternatively, place on a grill set to medium-high heat (direct heat) and cook.

 

 

 

