Review: Magnum Ice Cream Bars

My husband’s family owns land in Ecuador and every time I visit I take frequent walks to the convenient store down the road.  I love the nostalgia associated with grabbing an ice cream treat from the freezer on a hot day, not to mention the great taste and cooling effect! It was during one of these trips that I was introduced to Magnum Ice Cream bars. It was love at first taste. First, I’m a huge texture person – so if I’m going to like ice cream it has to be creamy and dense. I also love vanilla flavor, but not the yellow fake flavor, it has to be the real vanilla bean, and creamy white in color. Magnum has all this with a thick, crunchy chocolate shell.

So, when Foodbuzz’s Tastemaker program sent me coupons for free Magnum Ice Cream bars to review I was really excited to learn Magnum was coming to the states, and also hoping the product would be what I remember from my Ecuador trips. I choose the Double Caramel variety because I previously only tried the Classic variety. My husband and I ripped open the large packages and ate them together while sitting on our back porch.  Taste can bring you back to memories and places; I was instantly taken back to vacations past, enjoying sweet, creamy ice cream in hot weather. The new variety was such a treat too – double chocolate with golden, sweet caramel and the creamy, dense vanilla ice cream I remembered. Perfect. Now I’m on the hunt for the Double Chocolate and Dark varieties I haven’t been able to find at my grocer. Treat yourself this summer to a Magnum Ice Cream bar – I bet there is a sweet summer ice cream memory waiting to find you.

3 thoughts on “Review: Magnum Ice Cream Bars

  1. Grace Young May 19, 2011 / 9:01 PM

    I have a total Magnum addiction!!!

  2. Samantha September 24, 2012 / 4:53 PM

    Mine had a weird hard crunch that just did not belong, maybe I got a bad batch?

    • thequickanddirtycook September 25, 2012 / 9:08 PM

      Yeah, that sounds weird. They usually have a crunch, but a normal, frozen chocolate crunch and then you should have creamy caramel. That stinks!

Comments are closed.