Pineapple-Orange Sunshine Cake

This is a (believe it or not) a low-calorie cake that is a family favorite. I love it when the weather turns warm and you want something sweet but not too rich. It is also extremely easy to prepare and a kid-favorite. The recipe is from an old article clipping – I stuck exactly to the recipe and according to the recipe each slice is 212 calories and 3.6 grams of fat. Not bad for a really delicious treat!

Cake

  • 1 box low-fat/low-sugar yellow cake mix
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 can (11 oz) mandarin oranges in light syrup

Frosting

  • One 8 oz container light whipped topping, thawed
  • 1 pkg. (3.4 oz) instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 can (15.5 or 20 oz) crushed pineapple in juice
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray a 9 x 13 cake pan with nonstick spray.
  2. Mix all the cake ingredients in a large bowl until moist. Beat on medium for 2 minutes until combined.
  3. Pour batter into pan and bake 30-40 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  4. Cool completely.
  5. For the frosting, simply mix together all ingredients in a large bowl and spread over cake.
  6. Store in the fridge.

Serves: 16

Recipe Source:  magazine clipping from a 1999 Prevention article

Time: 45 minutes

6 thoughts on “Pineapple-Orange Sunshine Cake

  1. Cherine April 23, 2010 / 2:19 AM

    This looks so good!

  2. Rena April 23, 2010 / 7:49 AM

    Your recipes look interesting and delicious, but I would love to see food values along with it. I’m a Weight Watcher and it makes it easier to choose, evaluate, convert or decide just how much I’d be able to eat of a certain dish ( or in this case dessert) to make it worth while to prepare. I don’t want to make something of which I can only have a teaspoonful!

    • thequickanddirtycook April 23, 2010 / 11:39 AM

      Rena, Thank you … I don’t do food values with most of my recipes because I’m not qualified to do them. Also, almost all of my recipes are adapted or original so I don’t know the food values/nutritional info. I will only include it, if like here, I stick exactly to a recipe that contains that info. Good luck with weight watchers and perhaps some of their resources can help you determine what foods are appropriate for you. You can always browse my low-calorie, low-fat, low-carb tags for some ideas. The majority of my recipes can be tweaked to your individual needs. Take Care.

  3. Lazaro April 23, 2010 / 1:28 PM

    That is gorgeous. Pure sunshine. Wonderful recipe and fantastic photo. Cheers!

  4. Julie May 26, 2010 / 9:15 AM

    I used to make this cake all the time! LOVED IT and lost the recipe. Thank you soooo much for posting this!

Comments are closed.